Baily & Truscott represents the partnership of William L. Baily and Arthur Truscott, with offices in the Philadelphia Bank Building at 421 Chestnut Street. Both partners had worked for the Wilson Bros. and in the office of Cope & Stewardson.
Churches and residences dominate the output of Baily & Truscott and include the Church of the Good Shepherd at Lancaster and Montrose avenues in Rosemont, PA (1894) as well as the Cyrus H. K. Curtis residence ("Lyndon") on Church Road in Wyncote, PA (1896/97). In 1898 when attempting to secure the commission for the new First Baptist Church to be constructed on South 17th Street, William L. Baily's father, Joshua L. Baily, president of the powerful textile firm which bore his name, wrote to the head of the Building Committee, William A. Levering, to emphasize the partners' experience in church design. According to the surviving letter, "they have made church architecture the subject of special attention." (Nonetheless, the commission went to E. V. Seeler.)
In January, 1904 the Philadelphia Real Estate Record and Builders Guide announced that William L. Baily and George G. Bassett had formed Baily & Bassett and that Baily & Truscott had been "mutually dissolved."
Sandra L. Tatman.
Philadelphia Architects and Buildings |
Participating Institutions |
Website and System: Copyright © 2018 by The Athenaeum of Philadelphia.
Data and Images: Copyright © 2018 by various contributing institutions. Used by permission.
All rights reserved.